Member Directory - Executive Committee

Charles W. Flexner, MD, is the Principal Investigator of the Long Acting/Extended Release Antiretroviral Resource Program (LEAP). He is Professor of Medicine in the Divisions of Clinical Pharmacology and Infectious Diseases, and Professor of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences in the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.  He is also Professor of International Health in the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health. 

Dr. Abrams is a Professor of Epidemiology and Pediatrics at Columbia University with over 35 years of experience in the prevention and treatment of HIV infection and associated infectious diseases in pregnant women, children, and their families. As the Senior Director for Research at ICAP, she leads ICAP’s large research agenda and is responsible for the development of technical assistance and service programs for pediatric and perinatal prevention initiatives for ICAP programs in sub-Saharan Africa and Asia. 

Dr. Bollinger is Founding Director of the Center for Clinical Global Health Education (CCGHE) and Professor of Infectious Diseases at the Johns Hopkins University (JHU) School of Medicine. He holds joint appointments in international health at the Johns Hopkins (JH) Bloomberg School of Public Health, and in community public health at the JH School of Nursing.

Simon Collins is an HIV positive treatment advocate at HIV i-Base, which he cofounded in April 2000. He works to encourage people living with HIV to take an active role in their own health. He was lucky enough to be able to use combination therapy in 1996 which he started with a CD4 count in single figures.

Paul is accountable for developing and transferring for manufacture better and less expensive chemistries, formulations, and fixed-dose combination products for adults and children; supporting treatment optimization through the development, regulatory filing, and quality assessment of new products, diagnostics, and devices; providing clinical guidance on managing diseases and transitioning to new treatment paradigms;

Mark Mirochnick, MD is Professor of Pediatrics and Chief of the Division of Neonatology at Boston University School of Medicine/Boston Medical Center. He has extensive experience in clinical trials investigating the clinical pharmacology of antiretrovirals in infants, children and pregnant women.

Susan Swindells is a Professor of Internal Medicine in the Section of Infectious Diseases at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, USA.  A native of England, Dr. Swindells earned her medical degree from University College London in 1977, with postgraduate training in England and at the University of Washington in Seattle.  She has been involved in HIV care since 1984. 

Terry Blaschke, MD is Professor of Medicine and of Molecular Pharmacology (Emeritus) at Stanford University, Adjunct Professor in the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences at UCSF and Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Indiana University. From 2012 through 2015 he was a Senior Program Officer/Senior Advisor at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.


Dr. Rodney JY Ho is a distinguished professor of pharmaceutics (SOP), adjunct professor of bioengineering (SOM) and is an inaugural presidential entrepreneurial fellow of the University of Washington. He is also a member of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. His research encompasses basic and translational sciences for improving the therapeutic efficacy and safety of viral and cancer drugs, diagnostic agents and vaccines.

Jeffrey M. Jacobson, MD is Professor of Medicine and Neuroscience and Co-Director, Center of Translational AIDS Research Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University. He has extensive experience in the care and investigative study of HIV-infected patients.

Andy began volunteering at an AIDS Service Organization in 1996. His past and current work there has included treatment and patient advocacy and facilitating support groups. This led to an interest in HIV research. He joined the Community Advisory Board at the University of California San Diego and the Global Community Advisory Board of the AIDS Clinical Trials Group (ACTG).

Ms. McKenzie-White is the Managing Director and Senior Program Officer of the Center for Clinical Global Health Education.

She has more than 20 years of experience in program leadership, web development, health education, and research. Since joining the CCGHE in 2006, her efforts have focused on distance learning and capacity-building initiatives. Her work has contributed to numerous peer-reviewed publications on leveraging technology to facilitate clinical global health education and optimize healthcare delivery.

Andrew Owen is a Professor in the Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Liverpool. He is also affiliated to the MRC Centre for Drug Safety Science and the Wolfson Centre for Personalised Medicine. He is Chair of the British Society for Nanomedicine, a fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, and a member of the steering committee for the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences Nanomedicines Focus Group. 

Dr. Patrick J. Sinko is a distinguished professor (II) of Pharmaceutics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey in the Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy and is also Associate Vice President in the Office of Research and Economic Development.  His lab focuses on biopharmaceutics, pharmaceutical formulations, and nanoscale drug delivery with specific applications to AIDS, breast and lung cancer, chemical terrorism countermeasures and TB.

Kimberly Struble, PharmD, is a Senior Clinical Team Leader in the Division of Antiviral Products at the Food and Drug Administration. She provides expertise in all phases of antiviral clinical drug development and leads a team responsible for the development of new products for the treatment and prevention of HIV infection, hepatitis B and C, influenza, various herpes infections, and other emerging viral infections.